Andy Irvine’s new album

The splendiferous Andy Irvine’s new solo recording is out. Abocurragh, it’s called, a town in Fermanagh. Here’s what Andy has to say over on his website, where said CD can (& should) be bought now >>>

Album of the century!” Well…my first solo album since 1999. Recorded in Dublin, Norway, Australia, Hungary and Brittany between February 2009 and April 2010. Thanks to all my friends who helped me record it. Especially Dónal Lunny who worked so hard in the prduction of it, let alone playing on every track bar one. I hope it won’t be my last album of the century!!”

Produced by Dónal Lunny
Musicians are :
Dónal Lunny, Liam O’Flynn, Máirtín O’Connor, Annbjørg Lien, Lillebjørn Nilsen,
Nikola Parov, Jacky Molard, Bruce Molsky, Rens van der Zalm, Rick Epping,
Graham Henderson, Paul Moore, Liam Bradley, Kate Burke and Ruth Hazleton

Track list: (click titles for 30-sec samples)
1. Three Huntsmen MP3
2. Willy of Winsbury MP3
3. Emptyhanded MP3
4. The Close Shave / East at Glendart
5. James Magee
6. The Girl from Cushendun / The Love of my Life
7. The Spirit of Mother Jones MP3
8. Victory at Lawrence
9. The Demon Lover
1. Banks of Newfoundland
2. Oslo / Norwegian Mazurka

Here’s a fan interview he did recently down at the Kilkenny Arts Festival:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s