Gradam Ceoil traditional Irish music awards

Liz Carroll – Traditional Composer of the Year award.

“I can remember that this felt very special, different from learning a tune, varying one or hearing one for the first time,” she writes. “I had a melody that had come to me, and it didn’t exist anywhere else. I was at once the first person to hear it, to vary it, to learn it and ultimately to perform it. I can’t tell you how exciting that was.”

Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh – Traditional Singer of the Year

“I loved the way sean-nós wasn’t this precious artefact. It was a living, breathing part of a very vibrant culture. You weren’t singing in Irish for the Irish language’s sake. I never felt that I was a ‘sean-nós singer’, I’ve always just felt that I am ‘a singer’. It’s simply the music that I grew up with, that’s closest to my heart. I’m not from 100 years ago, and I’m not going to pretend to be, but obviously sean-nós has been the foundation for me.”

Gradam Saoil/Lifetime Achievement Award: Ben Lennon

Gradam na gCeoltóirí/ Musicians’ Award: Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin

Ceoltóir Óg/Young Traditional Musician of the Year: Pádraig Keane

Gradam TG4 Traditional Musician of the Year: Noel Hill

From the Irish Times >>>

Leave a comment